Christianity and Dogma

I recognize that there is some room for dissenting beliefs among authentic Christian communities, but there are also some nonnegotiable issues. Short of proof that he does not exist, I cannot affirm any belief that denies the Almighty and Triune God. Neither can I give up Jesus’ being both fully God and fully human as God’s unique and incarnate Son in real time and in a real historical context. I cannot authenticate any ideology that denies Jesus’ physical resurrection from the dead or his unique offering of salvation to humanity (2 Tim. 4:1-4). There is simply no other person by which people are saved (Acts 4:12). Finally, I must affirm that being a Jesus follower is not merely about personal belief, but about the way we live and love. By necessity, one impacts the other for a true disciple of Christ. The incarnation and resurrection of Christ is my faith’s foundation and it is nonnegotiable so long as I remain a Christian.

About C_Lambeth

I currently live in the Pacific Northwest. I graduated from Missouri State University with a Bachelor's of Science and from George Fox Seminary (now Portland Seminary) with a Master's of Divinity. In addition to knowing Christ and helping others know him, I am passionate about peace, the environment, Christian feminism, justice for all (not just the wealthy) and being a lifelong learner. Please feel free to comment on any of the posts here or to suggest new posts altogether. Thank you for reading me! -CL
This entry was posted in My Core Beliefs. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a reply. Respondents who do not honor the spirit of legitimate and reasonably courteous dialogue may find their posts unapproved, edited or removed at any time. You are free to disagree passionately, but not inappropriately.

